S. Korean Film Director Park Chan-wook Included Among 70th Cannes Film Festival Jury


South Korean film director, Park Chan-wook, has been selected to sit on the 70th Cannes Film Festival jury.

The film festival's organizing committee revealed on its Web site on Wednesday Park and seven other key figures who will make up the jury for this year's festival.

Renowned Spanish film director, Pedro Almodovar, has been selected jury president.

The other seven figures on the jury are German director and screenwriter, Maren Ade, American actress Jessica Chastain, Chinese actress Fan Bingbing, French director and actress AgnAs Jaoui, American actor Will Smith, Italian director Paolo Sorrentino and French composer Gabriel Yared.

The four female and four male jurors will have the honor of awarding cinema's most coveted prize, the Palme d'Or.

In this year's event, two South Korean films are competing: Hong Sang-soo's The Day After and Bong Joon-ho's Okja.

The festival will run from May 17th to 28th.

Source: KBS World Radio